'Battle of the Network Stars' Series Premiere on ABC

Thursday, June 29, 2017
Battle of the Network Stars, ABC

The revival of 'Battle of the Network Stars', based on the ‘70s and ‘80s television pop-culture classic, premieres Thursday, June 29 (9:00-10:00 p.m. EDT) on ABC.

'Battle of the Network Stars' is produced by Glassman Media and IMG, who also owns the format. The executive producers are Andrew Glassman, Will Staeger, Michael Antinoro and Chris Carlson.

The original series from ABC Sports began in 1976 and continued for 13 years. The new 'Battle of the Network Stars' will be a nostalgic throwback to the original series where TV celebrities blended athleticism with hilarious antics.

Here are the teams for the premiere episode (* = returning to 'Battle of the Network Stars'):

TV Sitcoms (Bronson Pinchot, Tom Arnold, Dave Coulier, AJ Michalka, Tracy Gold)
TV Kids (Joey Lawrence, Corbin Bleu, Nolan Gould, *Lisa Whelchel, *Kim Fields)

In 'Battle of the Network Stars', 100 TV stars from 14 different network and cable companies will take their athleticism to a new level as they compete – to feel “the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.” The summer event will pit teams of current and classic TV stars from multiple eras and different genres against one another in a variety of athletic games. Viewers can look forward to seeing a fresh take at some of the classic show’s sporting events like Tug of War, Archery, Kayak Relay, Obstacle Course and Dunk Tank – all from the site of the original series, the beautiful campus of Pepperdine University in Malibu, California.

The hosts for 'Battle of the Network Stars' are Mike Greenberg and Joe Tessitore of ESPN; Cassidy Hubbarth and Cari Champion of ESPN will be the sideline reporters; plus Super Bowl 50 winner DeMarcus Ware and MMA fighter/Olympian Ronda Rousey will be the team captains.

Source: ABC press release